News & Events, Spring 2017

Wednesday 04/19/2017


Panel & Book Launch | Assuming Boycott: Resistance, Agency, and Cultural Production

Monday, May 1
6:30–8:30 PM

The New School
John L. Tishman Auditorium
63 Fifth Avenue
New York City

Event page

This May Day Book Launch features the three editors, Kareem Estefan (Class of 2012), Carin Kuoni, and Laura Raicovich, in a lively exchange with book contributors artist Mariam Ghani, and art historian Chelsea Haines, joined by Claire Potter, Professor of History, The New School, and investigates the potential of boycott as a tool for organizing and art making.

A festive reception with ith DJs ConVex and DJD (Salome Asega and Derek Schultz) follows, in celebration of the book and other May Day assemblies in the city. 

The refusal to participate in an oppressive system has long been one of the most powerful tools in the organizer's arsenal. Assuming Boycott: Resistance, Agency, and Cultural Production is the essential reader for today's creative leaders and cultural practitioners, and includes original contributions by artists, scholars, activists, critics, curators and writers who examine the historical precedent of South Africa; the current cultural boycott of Israel; freedom of speech and self-censorship; and long-distance activism. Far from representing withdrawal or cynicism, boycott emerges as a special condition for discourse, artmaking and political engagement.

As U.S. cultural and academic organizations are increasingly subjects of boycotts -- in response to the ban on immigration from majority Muslim countries issued by the current U.S. administration -- the question of boycott attains additional urgency.

Assuming Boycott features twelve newly commissioned essays and six contributions by Nasser Abourahme, Ariella Azoulay, Tania Bruguera, Noura Erakat, Kareem Estefan, Mariam Ghani with Haig Aivazian, Nathan Gray and Ahmet Öğüt, Chelsea Haines, Sean Jacobs, Yazan Khalili, Carin Kuoni and Laura Raicovich, Svetlana Mintcheva, Naeem Mohaiemen, Hlonipha Mokoena, John Peffer, Joshua Simon, Ann Laura Stoler, Radhika Subramaniam, Eyal Weizman and Kareem Estefan, and Frank B. Wilderson III.

It is published by OR Books, in association with the Vera List Center for Art and Politics.

For pre-orders -- at a discount! -- please visit OR Books: